Skip to main content block


    One: Geographical position
    The district is located on the western piedmont towards the end of the Central Range; it is situated on the southeast border of Kaohsiung City, which is adjacent to the Yanping Township of Taitung in the east, Pingtung County’s Sandimen Township in the south, Pingtung’s Gaoshu Township and Liouguei District in the west, and Kaohsiung City’s Taoyuan District in the north. It has an altitude of 230m and ascends eastwards from the west to an altitude of 2,700m. The Jhuokou River penetrates the district from east to west, forming a rift valley terrain with waterfalls and gorges.

    Tw Administrative area
    1. Surface area: 394km2
    2. No. of villages: Three
    3. No. of neighborhoods: 19
    4. Population: 1,853 people
    5. No. of households: 577
    6. Tribe: Mainly Rukai tribe
    7. Religion: Mainly Christian and Catholic

    Three: Three black characteristics of Maolin District
    Maolin fantasy journey:Purple Butterfly Valley
    As the only overwinter butterfly valley in the world besides Mexico’s Monarch Butterfly Valley, the Purple Butterfly Valley attracts a large number of domestic/foreign tourists, media and scholars to visit and conduct studies here.


    Wanshan: Rock carving
    The Wanshan rock carving has preserved the prehistoric cultural record of the Rukai ancestors. It is an extremely valuable prehistoric remnant in Taiwan.


    A tribal artist teaches the villagers a simple and specific method to preserve and maintain ancestral spirits’ wisdom and cherish the memory of the ancestral culture.
    Duona Tapakadrawan (Black rice festival)
    Tapakadrawan is a unique traditional ceremony in Duona village; according to legend, the black rice was brought by God from the depth of the pond.

    The event has been organized by the district office for numerous years and attracts a large number of visitors and media each year.

    Four: Future prospects

    1. Create an educational and cultural image district
    2. Revive the flourishing tourism sector
    3. Boost the industry values by linking the three villages (Maolin Li, Wanshan Li and Duona Li)
    4. Head towards a thriving new prospect
    5. Become the back garden of the Kaohsiung region

    Five: History

    The district formerly belonged to the Ahou District (originally Pingdong Prefecture) Liugui Li sub-district Duona supervisory area. It was later stipulated as an administration area and became subsidiary to the Liugui Police branch office of Cishan County. After WWII, the township office was formed in February 1946, which was subordinate to the Kaohsiung County Government Syongpeak District. In 1951, it became directly under the Kaohsiung County Government.
    The district was called Duona Township, which is a transliteration of the Japanese word Antonko, which is in turn derived from the Battle of Tunzih. The battle was caused by the violent oppression of the indigenous people by the Japanese during the Japanese occupation period; no longer able to tolerate the oppression, the indigenous people rebelled against them. Although shielded by the natural terrain, their machetes, bows and arrows were no match for guns and canons. Eventually, the indigenous people surrendered; the name continued to be used after the Recovery and was changed to Maolin Township in 1957, which consists of the three villages of Maolin, Wanshan and Duona.
    During the Japanese occupation era, the inhabitants of Maolin resided at the foot of Wandou Mountain, which is now the rear mountain on the north side of Wanshan Li. They were forced to relocate to the current site by the Japanese, which was called Maya Community. The residents of Wanshan Li originally stayed at the foot of Mali Mountain, which was also called Wandoulan Community; it was relocated to the current address in 1956 through government assistance. Not much has changed for Duona Li aside from the change of name from Tunzih Community during the Japanese occupation to Duona Village after WWII.

    On December 25, 2010, the consolidation of the five municipalities was implemented, where township/town offices were restructured as district offices and townships were restructured as districts (Maolin District), villages became Li (Maolin Li, Wanshan Li and Duona Li). Under the new system, head of townships became district supervisors (the first in office as district supervisor was Lu Jin-yi), who were appointed by the mayor in accordance with the law. Each supervisor is responsible for overseeing district administration and commanding subsidiary staff members. Township representatives became district advisors; according to Article 58-1 of the Local Government Act, township/city representatives who were in office the day before the change in status, apart from those who had their authority suspended in accordance with law, are to be appointed by the mayor of the special municipality as advisors to the district’s administrative affairs. The term of office of the advisors shall be four years starting from the day the change in status of the townships/cities becomes effective. The advisors will not be reappointed once their term expires.